Episode Two

Maybe, just maybe, if I decide to be an atheist, I must have proof. Absolute proof, and right now, the evidence is circumstantial. Is God a gene? Certainly not. Is the very existence of Jesus a fable? Considering there is more written documentation-type evidence of the life of Jesus than the existence of Alexander the Great, not believing as much takes an incredible amount of faith.
And is faith good? Or maybe, why is faith good? Why do we value the idea of beliefs? And from our own point of view, no matter what we believe, it is the right belief and everyone else is wrong. Because we feel it, and if our beliefs are wrong, then our feelings aren’t real, and if what we feel isn’t real, then we aren’t real. We aren’t authentic.
Even if faith and feelings are not the same thing, it is certainly arguable that most justify faith with feelings. How do you know God exists? Because he spoke to me. How did he speak to you? I could feel him talking through others. You feel he is real. You feel spirits inside you. The Holy Spirit moving through you. This sense of elation is quantified by Dieus.
We hate having our faith questioned, just like we hate having our feelings questioned. If I feel angry, and you tell me I am not feeling angry, not for real, I don’t actually believe you. I hate it, and possibly hate you.
There seems to be a certain point in our life when we stop recycling old beliefs, and this doesn’t even have to do with religion. Not necessarily. There are many things I believed that I had to admit were untrue, things I thought I knew about religion; but I grew up.
These are, but aren’t limited to: the Bible was not originally written in English; when we die we won’t be angels; Jesus’ real name is not Jesus or Christ; the parables may not have been a re-telling of an actual event. The list goes on and on.
If I become an atheist, then all is lost. This is a point I tried to make to a certain therapist, who really didn’t see my point. He saw some intrinsic value to sucking oxygen that I just couldn’t see. Why exist if there is nothing or no one to live for?
We enjoy ourselves until we destroy ourselves, and then we find God. When we are at the end of our ropes, we cling to God. As if he can be found. Like a geo-cache.
We no longer need God for an Apocalypse.
The secular world still focuses on Jesus being the messiah for his miracles, as if it were the weight and substance of our savior, and not the words he spoke, or the person he promised he was.
And those who refuse to question their faith, whether in the existence or absence of God, follow it blindly, and often sound like fools.
Leave a Reply

